Faculty

dagmon

Danna Agmon,  Assistant Professor
412 Major Williams
dagmon@vt.edu

France; India and the Indian Ocean; Early Modern Europe; Imperialism and Colonialism


mbarrow

Mark V. Barrow, Jr., Professor and Department Chair

431 Major Williams
barrow@vt.ed

U.S.;  Environmental; Science (especially Biology)


tbecker

Trudy Harrington Becker, Senior Instructor

430 Major Williams
thbecker@vt.ed

Roman Historiography; Classica American; Classical Studies Reception Studies; Roman Cities


gbughGlenn Richard Bugh, Associate Professor
426 Major Williams
gbugh@vt.edu

Hellenistic Greece

 


Demmer SHAFR

Amanda C. Demmer, Assistant Professor

404 Major Williams
demmer@vt.edu

War and Society; US Foreign Relations; Migration Studies; Human Rights


dufourMonique Dufour, Collegiate Assistant Professor

406 Major Williams
msdufour@vt.edu

20th Century US; Medicine/Science/Technology; Reading in Print and Digital Cultures; Historians as Writers


aekirchA. Roger Ekirch, Professor
437 Major Williams
arekirch@vt.edu

Early America; Atlantic; History of Sleep


eewingE. Thomas Ewing, Professor and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
206D Wallace
etewing@vt.edu

History of Education; Russia and Soviet Union;  Medical History; Digital Humanities

 


cgitreCarmen Gitre, Assistant Professor
411 Major Williams
cgitre@vt.edu

Middle East; Modern Egyptian History; Theater and Performance


egitreEdward J.K. Gitre, Visiting Assistant Professor
407 Major Williams
egitre@vt.edu

U.S. History; Modern European Cultural; U.S. Religious


hgumbertHeather Gumbert, Associate Chair
433 Major Williams
hgumbert@vt.edu

Postwar Europe (esp. Germany); Television/Media Studies/Visual Culture;  Cold War


dhalpinDennis Halpin, Assistant Professor
404 Major Williams
dphalpin@vt.edu

Nineteenth and Twentieth Century US; African-American History; Urban History; Social History


mheatonMatthew Heaton, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
409 Major Williams
mheaton@vt.edu

Africa; Global; Transnational Science and Medicine

 


rhirshRichard F. Hirsh, Professor
423 Major Williams
richards@vt.edu

History of Technology; History of Energy Systems in America; Science and Technology Studies


mkiechleMelanie Kiechle, Assistant Professor
417 Major Williams
mkiechle@vt.edu

19th Century US; Environment/Science/Health; Urban; Cultural

 


LumbaAllan E. S. Lumba, Assistant Professor
413 Major Williams
lumba@vt.edu

Southeast Asia; Colonialism and Imperialism; Race and Capitalism; Asian and Pacific Islander American; Global History


LutherKurt Luther, Assistant Professor
VTRC-A Room 5-012, Arlington, VA
kluther@vt.edu

Computer Science; Digital History; Public History; Military History; History of Photography


mmollinMarian Mollin, Associate Professor
419 Major Williams
mmollin@vt.edu

20th-century US;  Women and Gender; Social Movements

 


anelsonAmy Nelson, Associate Professor
425 Major Williams
anelson@vt.edu

Russia; Animal Studies / Environmental History; Cultural History

 


Nichols USHMMBradley J. Nichols, Visiting Assistant Professor
432 Major Williams
bradleyn@vt.edu

Modern Germany; War and Society; Genocide; Race and Empire; World War II


PolancoEdward Anthony Polanco, Postdoctoral Associate
416 Major Williams
polanco@vt.edu

Latin America; Mexico; 16th and 17th Centuries; Indigenous People; Colonialism


pquigleyPaul Quigley, James I. Robertson, Jr. Associate Professor of Civil War Studies and
Director, Virginia Center for Civil War Studies
405 Major Williams
pquigley@vt.edu

American Civil War, U.S. South, nationalism


pschmittennerPeter Schmitthenner,  Associate Professor
321 Lane
pschmitt@vt.edu

Colonial and Postcolonial South Asia; Cultural History; History of               Technology


hschneiderHelen Schneider, Associate Professor
421 Major Williams
hms@vt.edu

20th Century China; Women and Gender; Social History; War


bshadleBrett L. Shadle, Professor
428 Major Williams
shadle@vt.edu

Africa; Colonialism; Sexual Violence; Refugees

 


rstephensRobert Stephens, Associate Professor
439 Major Williams
rosteph2@vt.edu

20th-Century Europe; Popular Culture; Science; Technology; Medicine

 


TaylorJessica Taylor, Associate Professor
431 Major Williams
jessicataylor@vt.edu

Oral History; Early American History; Historic Preservation; Native American History


dthorpDaniel B. Thorp, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
101 Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Building
wachau@vt.edu

European Colonization of North America; Comparative Colonization in the Early Modern Era; African-Americans in Southwest Virginia


Caitlin Verboon, Postdoctoral Associate
431 Major Williams
cverboon@vt.edu

Civil War and Reconstruction;  Military History; African-American History


pwallensteinPeter Wallenstein, Professor
402 Major Williams
pwallens@vt.edu

U.S. South (19th & 20th Century); Race and Law; Higher Education


lwinlingLadale Winling, Assistant Professor
415 Major Williams
lwinling@vt.edu

20th Century U.S.; Urban History; Digital History; Public History