Faculty

dagmon

Danna Agmon,  Assistant Professor
403 Major Williams
dagmon@vt.edu

France; India and the Indian Ocean; Early Modern Europe; Imperialism and Colonialism

 

 


mbarrow

Mark V. Barrow, Jr., Professor and Department Chair

431 Major Williams
barrow@vt.ed

U.S.;  Environmental; Science (especially Biology)

 

 



tbeckerTrudy Harrington Becker,
Senior Instructor and Associate Chair
431 Major Williams
thbecker@vt.ed

Roman Historiography; Classica American; Classical Studies Reception Studies; Roman Cities

 

 


gbughGlenn Richard Bugh, Associate Professor
426 Major Williams
gbugh@vt.edu

Hellenistic Greece

 

 


bbunchlyonsBeverly A. Bunch-Lyons, Associate Professor
464 Northern Virginia Campus, Falls Church
blyons@vt.edu

African American History; Women’s History and Oral History

 

 


dclineDavid Cline, Assistant Professor
413 Major Williams
davidcline@vt.edu

20th Century US; Public & Oral History; Social Movements; Religion and Society

 

 


dufourMonique Dufour, Collegiate Assistant Professor and Director
403 Major Williams
msdufour@vt.edu

20th Century US; Medicine/Science/Technology; Reading in Print and Digital Cultures; Historians as Writers

 

 


aekirchA. Roger Ekirch, Professor
437 Major Williams
arekirch@vt.edu

Early America; Atlantic; History of Sleep

 


eewingE. Thomas Ewing, Professor
226 Wallace
etewing@vt.edu

History of Education; Russia and Soviet Union

 


cgitreCarmen Gitre, Assistant Professor
411 Major Williams
cgitre@vt.edu

Middle East; Modern Egyptian History

 


egitreEdward J.K. Gitre, Visiting Assistant Professor
432 Major Williams
egitre@vt.edu

U.S. History; Modern European Cultural; U.S. Religious

 


hgumbertHeather Gumbert, Associate Professor
406 Major Williams
hgumbert@vt.edu

Postwar Europe (esp. Germany); Television/Media Studies/Visual Culture;  Cold War

 

 


dhalpinDennis Halpin, Assistant Professor
410 Major Williams
dphalpin@vt.edu

Nineteenth and Twentieth Century US; African-American History; Urban History; Social History

 

 


mheatonMatthew Heaton, Associate Professor
409 Major Williams
mheaton@vt.edu

Africa; Global; Transnational Science and Medicine

 

 


rhirshRichard F. Hirsh, Professor
423 Major Williams
richards@vt.edu

History of Technology; History of Energy Systems in America; Science and Technology Studies

 


kjonesKathleen W. Jones, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
439 Major Williams
kjwj@vt.edu

20th Century US; Medicine/Psychology; Childhood; Suicide

 


mkiechleMelanie Kiechle, Assisstant Professor
417 Major Williams
mkiechle@vt.edu

19th Century US; Environment/Science/Health; Urban; Cultural

 

 


mmollinMarian Mollin, Associate Professor
419 Major Williams
mmollin@vt.edu

20th-century US;  Women and Gender; Social Movements

 

 


anelsonAmy Nelson, Associate Professor
425 Major Williams
anelson@vt.edu

Russia; Animal Studies / Environmental History; Cultural History

 

 


pquigleyPaul Quigley, James I. Robertson, Jr. Associate Professor of Civil War Studies and
Director, Virginia Center for Civil War Studies
405 Major Williams
pquigley@vt.edu

American Civil War, U.S. South, nationalism

 


pschmittennerPeter Schmitthenner,  Associate Professor
256 Lane
pschmitt@vt.edu

Colonial and Postcolonial South Asia; Cultural History; History of               Technology

 

 


hschneiderHelen Schneider, Associate Professor
421 Major Williams
hms@vt.edu

20th Century China; Women and Gender; Social History; War

 


bshadleBrett L. Shadle, Associate Professor
428 Major Williams
shadle@vt.edu

Africa; Colonialism; Sexual Violence; Refugees

 

 


nshumskyNeil Larry Shumsky, Associate Professor
435 Major Williams
yksmuhs@vt.edu

US History (19th & 20th Century), American Cities; Migration and Homelessness

 


rstephensRobert Stephens, Associate Professor
238 Wallace
rosteph2@vt.edu

20th-Century Europe; Popular Culture; Science; Technology; Medicine

 

 


dthorpDaniel B. Thorp, Associate Professor
441 Major Williams
wachau@vt.edu

European Colonization of North America; Comparative Colonization in the Early Modern Era; African-Americans in Southwest Virginia

 

 


pwallensteinPeter Wallenstein, Professor
402 Major Williams
pwallens@vt.edu

U.S. South (19th & 20th Century); Race and Law; Higher Education

 

 


lwinlingLadale Winling, Assistant Professor
415 Major Williams
lwinling@vt.edu

20th Century U.S.; Urban History; Digital History; Public History

 

Advertisements